Law of Slavery


  • 14th Amendment: All persons born or naturalized in the United States and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United States and of the states in which they reside, which black slave became citizen. But all the Southern state legislatures, whith exception of Tennessee, opposite the amendment. Southern state passed black codes to control black. Blacks were required to enter into annual labor contracts; dependent childern were subject to compulsory apprenticeship and corporal punishments by masters.

  • Reconstruction Act: The governments that had been established in the Southern states, divided the South into five districts and placed them under military rule. Escape from permanent military government was open to those states that established civil governments.

  • 15th Amendment: (Right to Vote) Congress passed the amendement which "The rights of citizwns of the United States to vote shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or any state on account of race, color or previous condition of servitude." Many Souther whites refused to ratify the amendment, violence against blacks became more and more frequent. The governments passed an Enoforcement Act to protect the black freedmen of their civil right.

  • Jim Crow Laws: Southern white leaders tolerated new and humiliating kinds of discrimination against blacks. Jim Crow Laws which in south white and black segregated public schools, forbade or limited black access to many public facilities. Most blacks had right to vote but thery have to pay taxes and arbitrary literacy tests.


Home|CivilWar|Lincoln |Gallery |Law of Slavery